Origin:Latin
Popularity:3570
Meaning:the standard or norm; Norsewoman
Norma is a girl’s name of Latin origin. Translating to “the standard” or “the norm,” this classic name is anything but boring. Along with its Latin roots, Norma has a history in Germanic and Romance culture. Being the feminine equivalent of the name Norman, it also translates to “Norsewoman”—ideal for fans of Vikings. Norma might also be best recognized as Marilyn Monroe’s birth name, Norma Jean Baker. This name offers a funky vintage flair, short and snappy enough to hold its own.

Popularity Trend Chart

Roll over the visual for detailed rankings by year.

Source: Social Security Administration

Not sure you have the perfect name? Search to add more baby names to your My Favorites list.